My shadowy friends say hello again

by 1victorlouis

Image

I woke up in my bed,

Soaked in fear and sweat.

There’s a dread in my head,

For the blackness stands surrounding,

And my shadowy friends have come,

To say hello again.

 

These shadows have names,

These creeps have personalities.

They aim knives at my back,

But it’s up against the wall,

So they’ll aim at the heart instead.

It’s so very pleasant,

To meet old friends again.

 

These shadows have faces,

But they wear mirror masks.

I search them out in the dark,

But they catch me out.

I look into their eyes,

And stare into my own.

It’s so nice to catch up again.

 

My shadowy friends,

Speak only in echoes,

They haunt me with my words.

My shadowy friends,

Live inside my head,

And they will be feed.

But they crave no wine or bread,

They yearn to earn

That fear that is lured through the ear.

It is on this that they feed,

Gaining strength and breathe.

It’s so nice to see,

My shadowy friends again.

They must really like me,

For our meetings never seem to cease.